View Full Version : Anybody know what this is?
ob1klone
08-31-2008, 07:33 AM
Like the title says. I logged in the other day, and was redirected to this. Is this a fan site or something Cryptic is working on?
http://www.startrek-online.trekkies.org/index.php
LordDave
08-31-2008, 07:34 AM
Almost looks like some game clan is trying to create a fake STO site, redirect people there, and steal account info.
ob1klone
08-31-2008, 07:36 AM
When it redirected me there the first time, there was alot more on it.
LordDave
08-31-2008, 07:42 AM
Really? Odd.
Maybe it's a dedicated clan gaming forum that cryptic is setting up.
Hagon
08-31-2008, 08:01 AM
I've experienced something like that quite awhile back at another game's official site.
It ended up being the log in page for their beta forums. Maybe Cryptic was testing them at the time and some people were inadvertently directed there.
curtst
08-31-2008, 08:02 AM
Really? Odd.
Maybe it's a dedicated clan gaming forum that cryptic is setting up.
I don't think so. The site he was redirected to is based in the UK, while all of Cryptics is based in the US.
Someone is trying to duplicate the look for the STO site. For what reason? Who knows? It is weird you go redirected there though. I would report it to Cryptic.
Are you using IE or Firefox? Anyone else having issues?
Kinjiru
08-31-2008, 08:23 AM
I don't think so. The site he was redirected to is based in the UK, while all of Cryptics is based in the US.
Someone is trying to duplicate the look for the STO site. For what reason? Who knows? It is weird you go redirected there though. I would report it to Cryptic.
Are you using IE or Firefox? Anyone else having issues?
It's probably just a fan or a Fleet/Guild site. They probably just took the graphics from STO's main page. It's not hard to do. Granted, if it were me, I'd probably come up with my own graphics, but some people lack resources to do that. It wouldn't surprise me if we eventually see a fansite kit that's downloadable and contains the same graphics that we see on STO's main page.
Edit: Also, the banner ad on the page is for Freeware Clan Management, so I'd guess it's a fledgeling Fleet's page.
Varrangian
08-31-2008, 08:46 AM
You have reported the redirection to Razor and kin right?
Kinjiru
08-31-2008, 08:49 AM
You have reported the redirection to Razor and kin right?
Huh? Why would he report it to me? :D
Varrangian
08-31-2008, 08:51 AM
Huh? Why would he report it to me? :D
Shhhhh we all know you're a spy :P or is that a plant? :p
Kinjiru
08-31-2008, 08:55 AM
Shhhhh we all know you're a spy :P or is that a plant? :p
If I'm a plant, I want to be a Sunflower. :D
Varrangian
08-31-2008, 08:56 AM
If I'm a plant, I want to be a Sunflower. :D
A Klingon Sunflower?
Trekkie
08-31-2008, 06:31 PM
After visiting the site, I think that it is likely just a fan-based website and nothing more.
curtst
08-31-2008, 06:34 PM
After visiting the site, I think that it is likely just a fan-based website and nothing more.
Yeah after actually being able to see the site that is what it looks like. But it is weird he got redirected to it.
ob1klone
09-01-2008, 05:13 AM
Yea, I am reporting it to see what is up with it. It was weird when it happened. After being redirected to that site, I went back a few minutes later and I got into Cryptic's site just like normal. It may have been just an internet glitch, I don't know.
No1UKnow
09-01-2008, 06:02 AM
If you look at the screen shots listed on the homepage, in the lower right hand corner you see the logo for MMORPG. Seems rather odd I would think.