PDA

View Full Version : E-Mail for BETA


Tribbler
11-07-2009, 04:37 AM
Can anyone shed any light as to who the BETA invite comes from?

I usually look at the sender when I delete my E-Mails, and if I have never dealt with the business or the person that is sending the e-mail, I usually delete it.

Recently I received a Bloodmoon Free Trial for Champions Online from atari@reply.digitalriver.com.

If I hadn't known about the Atari/Cryptic relationship, I may have deleted it without reading it.

I was thinking an advertisement of any sort would come from webmaster@crypticsudios.com like I get when a forum thread is updated.

Does anyone know?

Thx

Trib

DAK13
11-07-2009, 04:43 AM
Anything offical that comes from Cryptic will have the @crypticstudios at the end of the email address!!

mad2274
11-07-2009, 05:17 AM
Even if you accidentally delete the beta invite, it says if you are accepted on the STO homepage. Just look at the upper right, it will either say beta applied or beta accepted.

Tribbler
11-07-2009, 05:23 AM
Even if you accidentally delete the beta invite, it says if you are accepted on the STO homepage. Just look at the upper right, it will either say beta applied or beta accepted.

Has that been stated? "The accepted" part?

TygerHawks
11-07-2009, 05:25 AM
Well, somebody posted the webpage detailing the NDA. In it, it discusses the "I accept" button at the bottom, a button that wasn't there as my account isn't flagged for beta. Chances are, the "Beta Accepted" link will take you to that page that in turns takes you to the download link.

All speculation, but seems reasonable.

Tribbler
11-07-2009, 05:33 AM
Well, somebody posted the webpage detailing the NDA. In it, it discusses the "I accept" button at the bottom, a button that wasn't there as my account isn't flagged for beta. Chances are, the "Beta Accepted" link will take you to that page that in turns takes you to the download link.

All speculation, but seems reasonable.

I was thinking that too, both notification would be better than an obscure e-mail that maybe considered "just another advertisement "hits trashcan".

vixen11
11-07-2009, 10:38 AM
Has that been stated? "The accepted" part?


Yes it has see post by StormShade right here http://forums.startrekonline.com/showthread.php?t=29485


Once you are accepted to the beta, you will receive an e-mail notifying you that you have been invited. Also, if for some reason you do not get the e-mail, the "Apply Now" button on the main Star Trek Online page will change to notify you that you have been accepted, when you are logged in to the web site.

Tribbler
11-07-2009, 11:01 AM
Thanks llayas!

crazy_guy
11-07-2009, 02:50 PM
Hey Tribbler look at this one ;)

UPDATED: As you know, we're ramping up for beta and so the previous message here may not apply. This is where it gets sketchy.

Any invitation that you receive from Cryptic Studios will have an @crypticstudios.com email address. There will be information that will bring you back to an official website.

Just a tip - if you mousehover over a link, it will display the actual link. Always check those.

Source:
http://forums.startrekonline.com/showthread.php?t=20675